Menu Close

Early Solo Concertos

Accademia Arcadia

Concertos were originally works for ensembles of various sizes and composition, often contrasting concertino (group of soloists) and ripieno (usually a string orchestra). The solo concerto—the standard form of the genre in the Classical and Romantic eras—emerged gradually over the course of the 18th century. This program features four outstanding works by Baroque composers Alessandro Marcello and Antonio Vivaldi, and early Classical composers Thomas Arne and Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach.


Adam Masters (oboe)
Josephine Vains (cello)
Brendan O’Donnell (recorder)
Jacqueline Ogeil (Cristofori piano)

Concert Program:

Benedetto Marcello

Concerto in D minor for oboe S D935

Antonio Vivaldi

Concerto in C minor for recorder RV441

Thomas Arne

Concerto no. 5 in G minor for piano

C. P. E. Bach

Concerto in A minor for cello (WQ170, H432)

Skip to content